Skip to content

News | HRC funding success; Whakahā o Te Pā Harakeke research programme announced

With our partners, Hāpai te Hauora, Kōkiri Marae Keriana Olsen Trust, and ESR, ASPIRE2025 is thrilled to announce we have received a Health Research Council programme grant.  The Whakahā o Te Pā Harakeke programme aims to develop evidence that will close smoking disparities, particularly for Māori and Pasifika. Our work strives to enhance how tobacco control evidence is used in decision making and accelerate progress towards a Smokefree Aotearoa.

Read the full press release here: Otago receives ‘lion’s share’ of HRC funding

Or, view the Otago Daily Times article here: https://www.odt.co.nz/news/dunedin/6m-smoking-research

The programme partners bring extensive community knowledge and relationships, and research expertise. Our programme aims to build research capacity and create unique opportunities to address the pressing health inequities caused by smoking

We will establish a website outlining our programme aims and partnerships, and will share our findings on this site as we complete our exciting work schedule. Full details of the website will be shared once it is established; our ASPIRE2025 site will also provide updates.

Please feel free to contact any of the programme leaders if you would like more information.

Janet Hoek (janet.hoek@otago.ac.nz)

Richard Edwards (Richard.edwards@otago.ac.nz)

Anaru Waa (Andrew.waa@otago.ac.nz)

Teresea Olsen (teresea@kokiri-hauora.org.nz)

Mihi Blair (mihi.blair@hapai.co.nz)

Mat Walton (Mathew.Walton@esr.cri.nz)